5 ReciPal Alternatives Compared on Price, Edit Policy & Formats

Last verified 16 Sep 2026 · Sources

If you’re comparing ReciPal against the rest of the field, the number of database-analysis nutrition-labeling tools worth putting side by side is small enough to check directly against each vendor’s own site. Below are ReciPal plus four commonly mentioned alternatives: NutriLabels, Food Label Maker, LabelCalc (now folded into Datacor’s product line), and Genesis by Trustwell/ESHA, with a note on MenuCalc, a foodservice-focused tool that comes up in the same searches. Pricing and policy below come from each vendor’s own site, fetched today, as of September 2026, with third-party listings labeled wherever a vendor’s own page didn’t show a dollar figure.

Quick answer

NutriLabels and ReciPal both publish a $29 entry price for one product, with the difference being NutriLabels’ 12 months of edits plus downloads that never expire, against ReciPal’s 60-day edit window, then view/download only. Food Label Maker’s tiers are subscription-only, published directly on its own pricing page: Essential $25/mo, Pro $49/mo, and Business $99/mo, each with a lower per-month rate when billed annually. LabelCalc (now under Datacor’s brand) and Genesis (Trustwell/ESHA) both route to a sales demo with no self-serve pricing on site. MenuCalc’s own pricing page lists Starter, Growth, and Enterprise tiers, all “Contact Sales,” with no dollar figures published.

Side by side

NutriLabelsReciPalFood Label MakerLabelCalc (Datacor)Genesis (Trustwell/ESHA)
Entry price$29 one time, per product$29 per recipe, one time (recipal.com/pricing)Essential $25/mo, or $21/mo billed annually ($254/yr) (foodlabelmaker.com/pricing)Not published on site; sales-quoted, “Request a Demo” only (datacor.com)Not published on site; demo-only (esha.com)
One-time optionYesYes: Single ServingNot publishedNot publishedNot published
What’s included at entryPrint-ready PDF/SVG/PNG, ingredient statement, allergen declaration, serving-size wizard, compliance auditUnlimited downloads, “60 days of editing access” per recipe (recipal.com/pricing)Ingredient database, allergen ID, multiple formats, sub-recipe builder, unlimited storage (Essential) (foodlabelmaker.com/pricing)Recipe management, FDA compliance, allergen tracking, per Datacor’s product page (datacor.com)Formulation and labeling platform for manufacturers; not itemized without a demo (esha.com)
Edit/revision policy12 months of edits, downloads never expire60 days after creation, then view/download only (recipal.com/faq)Editable only while subscribed; 30-day grace period after cancellation, then deletion (foodlabelmaker.com/terms-conditions)Not published on siteNot published on site
FormatsEvery FDA format the product qualifies forFDA vertical/tabular/linear/simplified plus CFIA (EN/FR/bilingual) (recipal.com/faq)10+ formats (Essential); CFIA bilingual on Pro+; 8+ markets on Enterprise (help.foodlabelmaker.com)Not specified in this fetchNot specified in this fetch
Markets/jurisdictionsUS (FDA)US (FDA), Canada (CFIA)US (FDA); Canada and others on higher tiersNot specified in this fetchNot specified in this fetch
Turnaround for expert help5 business days after documentation is confirmed5 business days (≤5 recipes) or next-day expedited at $300/hr (recipal.com/expert-terms)“Usually 2-5 business days” (foodlabelmaker.com/faq)Not published on siteNot published on site
Refund policy14-day money-back guarantee on your first Single Product“There aren’t refunds on annual subscriptions” (recipal.com/faq)“All Fees are non-refundable” (foodlabelmaker.com/terms-conditions)Not published on siteNot published on site
Free tier/previewCalories, qualifying claims and allergen line free, no card required; every other value and %DV unlocks at $29Free templates, 60-day feature trial, one free watermarked recipe (recipal.com)Not confirmed on vendor site in this fetchNot confirmed on vendor site in this fetchDemo request only; no self-serve free tier (esha.com)

MenuCalc, a separate foodservice-focused option, isn’t in the table above because it serves a different regulation (menu calorie disclosure, not packaged labels). Its pricing page lists Starter, Growth, and Enterprise tiers, all “Contact Sales” with no dollar figures published (menucalc.com/pricing). Its homepage does state a “15-day 5-recipe free trial” and positions the product for “Restaurants, Hospitality and the Foodservice Industry” rather than packaged-goods brands (menucalc.com).

Where they differ

Published, self-serve pricing vs. sales-quoted. NutriLabels, ReciPal, and Food Label Maker all publish self-serve tiers or a purchase flow on their own sites. LabelCalc (now under Datacor’s “Nutrition Labeling & Analysis Software (formerly LabelCalc)” branding) and Genesis both route every path to a demo request, with no dollar figure on either vendor’s own page as of this check (datacor.com, esha.com).

What a one-time purchase actually buys. NutriLabels’ $29 and ReciPal’s $29 Single Serving are the only two one-time options among this group’s published pricing, and they differ on the edit window: 12 months for NutriLabels, 60 days for ReciPal, per ReciPal’s FAQ.

A brand identity change worth knowing. If you bookmarked labelcalc.com, you’ll land on a Datacor page today; the product itself appears to continue under new branding rather than having shut down, per the “(formerly LabelCalc)” language on that page.

Multi-market format coverage. ReciPal and Food Label Maker both publish CFIA (Canadian) format support, with Food Label Maker’s Enterprise tier extending further to other markets. NutriLabels covers FDA (US) formats only.

Audience fit. Genesis positions itself toward larger food manufacturers and formulation teams rather than a single-SKU purchase, per its own product page’s demo-only calls to action, while MenuCalc’s stated focus is restaurant and foodservice recipe analysis rather than packaged retail labeling.

Who each fits

If you have one or a handful of US-market SKUs and want to pay once and have a full year of edits, NutriLabels is the clearest fit; if you’re comfortable with a 60-day edit window and want Canadian formats bundled in, ReciPal is a direct alternative.

If you run many SKUs a month across multiple markets, or serve several clients as a co-packer, you have more to weigh: Food Label Maker’s subscription tiers add CFIA and broader formats as you move up; Genesis is worth a sales conversation for larger-scale formulation work; and LabelCalc’s current home under Datacor is worth a direct pricing conversation rather than assuming its earlier standalone pricing still applies.

Choose

Choosing a tool whose edit window matches how often your recipe changes saves you paying twice for the same label. If you run more than one product, or expect to, the Studio plan ($299 a year: every product you make, plus the compliance binder and PDF reports, AI spec-sheet import, recipe costing, product approval and three user seats) fits, and the Co-packer plan ($1,199 a year: everything in the Studio plan plus client folders, white-label documents and five seats) covers client brands. If you only need one product labeled right now, enter your recipe, then see your label: your calories, the claims you qualify for and your allergen line are free, no card required, and Single Product ($29 one time, with 12 months of edits and a 14-day money-back guarantee on your first Single Product) unlocks every other nutrient value and %DV, every FDA format your product qualifies for, the ingredient statement and allergen declaration; or send us the recipe and we build it ($249, within 5 business days). See NutriLabels’ pricing, or build your label free to see the free preview first.

FAQ

Is LabelCalc still its own product?

labelcalc.com now redirects to Datacor's site, where the product is titled \"Nutrition Labeling & Analysis Software (formerly LabelCalc)\"; the login URL still reads app.labelcalc.com, but the marketing and pricing pages sit under datacor.com today (datacor.com/products/nutrition-labeling).

Does ReciPal's $29 option really stop being editable after 60 days?

Yes, per ReciPal's own FAQ: \"You have the ability to edit your label for 60 days after you create it.\" After that, the recipe stays viewable and downloadable, but editing further means another Single Serving purchase or a subscription (recipal.com/faq).

Does Food Label Maker publish its subscription prices on its own site?

Yes. Food Label Maker's pricing page (foodlabelmaker.com/pricing/) lists Essential at $25/mo (or $21/mo billed annually, $254/yr), Pro at $49/mo (or $42/mo annually, $500/yr), and Business at $99/mo (or $84/mo annually, $1,010/yr), each for 1 user with unlimited recipes.

Do LabelCalc, Genesis, or MenuCalc offer a one-time purchase like NutriLabels' $29?

None of the three publishes a one-time, per-label price on its own site as of this check. LabelCalc/Datacor and Genesis route to a sales demo; MenuCalc's homepage mentions a 15-day, five-recipe free trial but no self-serve dollar price was visible in this fetch.

Which of these has the lowest published entry price for a single US-market product?

NutriLabels and ReciPal both publish $29 for a first product. NutriLabels' $29 purchase includes 12 months of edits and downloads that never expire; ReciPal's $29 Single Serving includes 60 days of editing access before it locks to view-and-download.

More comparisons

ReciPal, Food Label Maker, Multiple, LabelCalc, Genesis Foods (Trustwell, formerly ESHA Genesis R&D), MenuCalc. See the full all comparisons.

Sources

Ready to get your product on the shelf?

Start your label now, or ask us anything first.